<<Back to main page

508 SOUTH JEFFERSON
RESIDENCE

Site 16
(Constructed for Mr. & Mrs. William Barrie)
Constructed c. 1869
Architect and builder unknown

 

Records indicate that 508 S. Jefferson was constructed in 1869 for William C. Barrie, the owner of a Dry Goods store. Reflecting the changing tastes of 136 years, subsequent owners 508 South Jefferson:  Residencehave made numerous alterations and additions to the home.  Originally, the structure’s Carpenter Gothic revival style exterior was clad with board and batten siding.  City records indicate that a building permit was taken out in 1890.  It was probably at this point that the exterior clapboard was installed, the large tripartite window was installed in the living room and the current front porch was constructed.

 

As part of the  Jefferson Avenue Corridor Project, Neighborhood Renewal Services acquired it in 2003. A new roof has been installed and new uses for this home are being explored - a use that will help assure that this venerable home continues to be part of a vibrant S. Jefferson Avenue.

 

Map

 

Rollover map of Historic South Jefferson Walking Tour 100 South Jefferson Avenue 403 South Jefferson - Dow House (This is connected to the First Congregational Church) Jeffers Park 403 South Jefferson - First Congregational Church 600 Federal Avenue 500 Federal Avenue - Castle Museum 505 Janes Avenue - Hoyt Library 303 Jefferson Avenue 310 South Jefferson Avenue 321 South Jefferson Avenue 523 Hayden 411 Hayden 505 Millard 503 South Jeffferson 508 South Jefferson 523 South Jefferson 505 Thompson 518 Thompson 604 South Jefferson 614 South Jefferson 615 South Jefferson St. Mary of the Assumption Cathedral South Jefferson and Hoyt - Location of the fire of 1893